Historical Notes

    1. The first national urogynaecology conference was on the 2nd of November, 2002, in Cape Town. The organisers were Gunther Rienhardt and Peter de Jong, under the auspices of the Cape Town Pelvic Floor Society. This meeting was the academic 'introduction' of the subspecialty to South Africa. The international speakers included Peter Dwyer from Australia, and Ash Monga, Abdul Sultan and Ranee Thakar from the UK.

    1. At the 2004 ICS/IUGA meeting in Paris the IUGA executive committee presented the idea of the IUGA eXchange meetings to the South African delegates.

    1. May 2005 saw the first IUGA eXchange meeting in South Africa, back-to-back with the second national urogynaecology meeting, during which the first SAUGA executive committee was appointed. Hennie Cronje was elected as the president, with Suran Ramphal as the treasurer. Peter de Jong, Paul Swart, Greg Webb and Johann Coetzee were also appointed to the committee. Gunther Rienhardt was temporarily on the committee, before he left for the UK. Kobus van Rensburg was appointed to the committee in his place.

    1. In October of 2005 SAUGA presented a full day workshop at the SASOG conference. This represented the first recognition of the subspecialty by the gynaecological fraternity.

    1. The second IUGA eXchange meeting took place in Cape Town in June 2006.

    1. The third SAUGA conference was held in Bloemfontein in 2007. The SAUGA constitution, and the presentation to the HPC(SA) for registration of the subspecialty was drafted and/or completed by SAUGA exco during pre-congress meetings.

    1. The 2008 SAUGA symposium in Pretoria included the election of a new SAUGA executive committee. Hennie Cronje remained as the president, Suran Ramphal as the treasurer, and Kobus van Rensburg as the secretary. Zeelha Abdool, Stephen Jeffery and Frans van Wijk were newly elected to the committee, and Peter de Jong and Johann Coetzee were co-opted to the executive committee.

    1. The 2009 SAUGA conference took place in Durban. The presence of a significant international faculty attested to the growing interest of practitioners in the subspecialty.

    1. From 2005, SAUGA attempted to register urogynaecology as a subspeciality of Obstetrics and Gynaecology in South Africa. By 2010 it was still not registered.

    1. Urogynaecology experienced rapid developments in science and practice from 2005. The industry actively participated by means of numerous workshops which produced "instant" surgeons in urogynaecology. By 2010 it was clear that this was not always to the advantage of the patient and SAUGA decided to conduct more academically orientated workshops of which the first one was scheduled for July 2010 in Bloemfontein.

    1. The rapid development in urogynaecology also resulted in a need for redefining the surgical codes in this field for private practice. Since 2009 SAUGA actively negotiated with several role players to update the codes.

  1. In 2010, SAUGA had 87 subscribed members, but the interest in this field was much larger.